The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 67

User Info Menu

I have just begun to read Garisson Fewell's book "Jazz Improvisation For Guitar - a Melodic Approach".

From what i can gather he is suggesting using triads built of each degree of the scale to base you lines on.
    Now my normal approach to improvising is to build lines around the chord of the moments arpeggio or a diatonic substitution.

My question: are there advantages to this approach and if so what are they,i suppose what i am looking for is you guys opinions on this method.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

this is a GREAT book, if you are ready for it. i have spent 4-6 hours a day with this material for the last year or so. it has profoundly deepened my familiarity of the fingerboard (and i've been a professional classical guitarist for 30+ years), and exponentially increased my improv capacity (and vocabulary).

i must say, i went through the book superficially the first time, and came away with "yeah, so what". boy, was i ever wrong! when you get time to work with it (should you decide to do so), be in touch and i will show you some of the ways i practice the contents...

User Info Menu