The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Hi

I'm pretty new to jazz guitar and I'm struggling with playing the changes (with a different mode and arp for each chord) over a fast II V I progression. Is it possible to play Dorian for both the II chord and the V chord, resolving to ionian on the I chord? (Or alternitavely using the Mixolydian mode for both the II chord and the V chord).

I couldn't find any similar threads, but if anyone knows of one or can answer my question id be massively grateful

thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey Dommie. Yes, anything is possible. You can mix and match all you want.

But if you're new to playing jazz, here's my personal advice... others may not agree.

Using dorian, mixolydian, and ionian to play over a ii V I is perfectly acceptable. But understand that they all come out from the same parent scale. So if you're in the key of C major (Dmin7 - G7 - CMaj7) the D dorian mode is the 2nd mode from the C scale, the G mixolydian mode is the 5th mode from the C major scale, and C ionian is the 1st.

So they all utilize the same notes. Only all the more reason why you can interchange and use them in different ways, because you're still using all the same notes. If you looked at these modes on the piano, all three of them are made up of the white keys. So you're effectively asking if you're allowed to substitute using the white keys in place of the white keys.

That said, if you're trying to outline the changes, the modes themselves aren't going to outline the changes, because they're all made of the same 7 white keys. What will outline the changes is when you utilize the chord tones of the chord you're playing over.