The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Familiar with Joe Diorio's "gesturing"? It's about making shapes and contours rather than notes, chords scales and such. I applied that here to 2 choruses of 12 bar blues in Bb. Hope you like

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Joe would like that. Joe recommend Gesture Improv as regular practice in order to practice being creative.

User Info Menu

Cool!

I have a masterclass of Rez Abbasi, and he does this type of thing everyday for an hour as a warm-up!

I did it for a few days after I saw the masterclass, but didn't keep at it. Maybe should try to get back to it!

Thx for the inspiration!
    Last edited by srlank; 12-30-2015 at 08:28 PM.

User Info Menu

I had stumbled onto this practice on my own many years ago but always felt it a bit of a guilty pleasure. Intellectually it appeared as if it wasted valuable practice time, but I knew intuitively that it felt so right. Connecting with the sound, the physical connection with the instrument and finding voice all made sense in a gut level so I kept on with it. Then, maybe ten years ago I saw Joe's video and "wham", what an epiphany- it was really right all along and incredibly important to develop. Now, it's part of every day on the instrument. And if time is limited and I only do one thing, it will be that.

User Info Menu

the abstract artists knew..once the technique and fundamentals were in place, deconstruction is as important as pushing forever onward towards " technical perfection"...one can only measure his endless climb to the summit of the mountain by acknowledging where he began...and incorporating that playfulness and youth, with time and knowledge

nice video as per usual..watched a few times already..and will revisit moreso

cheers

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Kleinhaut