The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 54 of 54

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Irez87
    All great ideas, which I will try this weekend. Thanks!
    Some basic 4ths stuff here for you Irez:

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Irez87
    Henry, what you and Jordan are doing should serve as a model to us as well. Seek out the best musicians to study with. You did that with Bishop, Mingus, and countless others. Jordan is doing that now with Stefon Harris and Pete B.
    To name just a couple.
    I've been a very lucky man these last few years!

I second this advice. I was self taught most of my life and figured just about everything out by ear on my own for the first 8-10 years. I had a few small encounters with great teachers during those times... but they were short lived. And I was never given a method or a book.

And because I was able to figure out so much on my own, I sort of assumed that teachers weren't so important. That I could get by on my own and figure out everything I needed to know without anyone. No teachers, no books, no methods... just playing.

And that was true-ish. I did really well for myself with that model.

But yeah, moving to NY and studying/working/playing with the guys I've been able to cross paths with is a whole different level. I probably learn more in any given month here than I was able to figure out on my own in the previous 5 or 10 years. None of them are using anything that different from other musicians... but seeing how they think about, apply, and hear things - even basic things - is just on a different level. And I doubt that I would have figured out a fraction of that stuff just working by myself even if I had 10 lifetimes on this planet.