The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

I'm new to jazz, and more and more I get into understanding how to improvise over changes, the more I realize that I must not think in scales but in intervals (chord tones, chromatics, passing tones).
    At least, in this stage.
    My problem (and i'm sure it's the same problem of a lot of people) it's that I can't think fast the X position of say, the lydian b7 scale, so rather than trying to improvise using position scales for example, I just think of the chord tones plus the passing notes of that scale of the moment, it's a LOT easier (at least for me) just to think of each note of the scale or whatever.
    It's that what a saxophonist would do, right?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Same here. I'm trying to play over changes using ARPS, passing tones, whatever. I can't get my mind around the right scale for every chord change...don't even want to. It's all variations of Major or minor scales anyway.

I DO like the idea of going from the 3rd to the 7th, which I just recently realized.

Sailor

User Info Menu

Chord tone soloing > scalar soloing, in my opinion.

Modes and scales have always seemed fairly useless. A good solo appropriately outlines the harmony.

Scales are a good/easy starting point... but now you're moving in the right direction. Ideally, you should just be able to play what you hear in your head. However, more often than not... It's going to be based around arpeggios and passing tones.

The study of arpeggios will greatly improve your ear and grasp on how to play these "sounds" that you hear.

User Info Menu

The 3rd from one chord to the 7th of the next chord, etc, right?

User Info Menu