The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Where do you guys get backing tracks to improvise over? Preferably standards and songs that it will come in handy to know (two birds with one stone, you know). Free would also be a huge plus considering I'm a broke student.
    Obviously learning by playing with people would be best but I'd like a way to practice this at home if at all possible.

Thanks, and sorry if this has been asked a thousand times. (I haven't had much luck with the forum's search function so far)
    Last edited by Source; 09-26-2012 at 11:18 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Band in a box is the best program for backing tracks, imo. You can find pretty much all the jazz standards in BiaB format if you search around. And the great thing about BiaB is you can change the key, tempo, or reharmonize tunes easily and instantly.

Barring that, Jamey Abersold's website is a great source of backing tracks.

Lastly, you can find many on Youtube (though the quality can be sketchy sometimes). Here is a channel with like 180 jazz standard backing tracks (made in BiaB i think): jazz standards enjoy that channel while it lasts....

User Info Menu

+ 1 on BiaB.
    It's a very useful tool, very easy to use (don't have to be a computer expert...). And you can record yourself over the backing track to check your timing and harmonic coherence.

Wow the link to that YouTube channel is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a lot, jazzadelic.

Band in a box sounds pretty awesome as well, I'll save up some money and try to get that. Problem is I'm working solely from my phone right now, I don't have a computer.

User Info Menu

You can check out the website in my sig..

Tom...

User Info Menu

I came across this today. At jwplayalongs.com, he sells an mp3 player with the songs from the real book as backing tracks. Cost 109.00 dollars.

You can hear a sample on his blog.

User Info Menu