The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 206

User Info Menu

What do the pros say?

I'm a newbie to jazz, but no stranger to music, and have decided to finally make the switch to Jazz, and I was wondering if you guys think in terms of scales when you improvise?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Doing a search through this forum for CST or "Chord Scale Theory" will result in quite a lot of reading.

I try not to think scales OR arpeggios, but instead, melodies.

User Info Menu

A real can of worms! The emphasis on 'scales over chords' is a more recent development in jazz history and many players who were taught this way sound good. Other people sound find thinking "chordally". I prefer the latter approach. A lot depends on the kind of jazz you want to play. For example, if you love bebop, well, Charlie Parker thought in terms of chords and extensions rather than scales. (I think the educator, and musician David Baker has done a lot of good work, but I always thought it, well, ironic that he wrote his 'how to play bebop' series on the playing of people who didn't learn to play that way! His books are good, I'm not knocking them, but obviously, the great bebop players learned to play bebop before there was a 'method' for it! They thought "chordally".
    You could look at both ways---and the different methods of learning those ways---and see which one suits you. 'Many ways up the mountain,' as they say.

User Info Menu