The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

You know how it's said that you never forget how to ride a bike? Well...

Been working 10+ hour days 6 days a week and other things keeping me away from playing my guitar for some time now. I get home from work and I'm exhausted trying to take care of other things in life and get ready for the next days work ugh. So I haven't even picked up my guitar in about 6 months now. I'm sure that's the longest I've gone without playing since I started playing over 20 years ago.

I went into Guitar Center the other day to buy some strings, picked up a guitar to play, plugged into an amp and instantly realized how out of practice I was . It felt like a stranger instead of an old beloved friend, WOW . Where is "that note" that used to just fall right under my fingers and come naturally to me? What was that cool riff I used to play over this chord?

Moral to this story: There's no substitute for time on the instrument / regular consistent practice. Got to keep up a steady regular practice regimen to "keep your head in it," and keep your chops up, and progress on the instrument. I'm going to be finding a way to get back to that like I used to. Practicing at least one hour per day minimum, believe that.
    Last edited by Double 07; 07-26-2012 at 12:54 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I feel your pain.

The 1 hour a day may still be elusive, however, something that helped me was to keep a guitar on a stand (not in a case) located in a frequently used room of the house. Even on a busy day, I have no excuse not to pick the guitar up for 10 minutes and practice or play a song or two, and usually more than once a day. Not an ideal way to practice but prefer it to not playing.

User Info Menu