The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I recently read an article about improvising with chord tones vs improvising with the chord scale theory (I think it was on this forum, actually). The conclusion was that beginners should focus on using chord tones first. As a beginner myself, I thought I'd try this out.

I read into chord tone improvisation and found that the notes to target are the 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th, 11th, and 13th. But isn't the 9th the same as the 2nd? Therefore couldn't one target the 2nd? And couldn't one target the 10th since its the same note as the 3rd? Apparently its good to avoid the 4th... isn't that the 11th?
    Or does it depend on what octave the root is being played in? But then if you change positions and hit the root on a higher octave, do the chord tone targets all shift and change as well?

Also, for a regular major chord, would you only target the root, 3rd, and 5th? Or can you still target the rest of the chord tones even if they're not in the chord?

And how should I go about practicing this? Would it be detrimental to try outlining entire chord progressions before my ears and fingers have fully familiarized the chord tones of individual chords?

Thanks!
    This is my first post here so sorry for being a noob.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Good post -- nothing wrong with being a beginner ... we all start somewhere!

I always recommend Hal Crook's "Ready, Aim, Improvise" as an excellent workbook. The first 100 pages or so are everything you need to know about theory, then the rest of the book is on improv (including what you're talking about), exercises, play-alongs, and a lot of good humor! Buy it!

User Info Menu

It's true that chord tones + extensions = all notes in the scale.

I've often interpreted "solo using only chord tones" as meaning just the four notes of the seventh chord 1 3 5 7, with whatever alterations to fit the chord type.