The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 48

User Info Menu

Hi this is my first post so hopefully it's in the right place

I've been playing guitar now for around 5 years and have been listening to jazz for a while however most of my playing is based on rock/blues ideas.

I know some of the theory behind jazz guitar but I'm getting to the stage now were I really want to start applying some of my knowledge into actual playing. I'm always so impressed by guys who can play smooth flowing lines over changes. I know kinda the basic gist of it theoretically however when I go to do it in real time it does not work

I want to develop the facility to improvise over jazz standards and 'play the changes' and make it sound natural and coherent.

So basically what I am wondering is if I can get some advice in terms of what materials/methods/ideas I could use to get closer to my goal.

Thanks for your help in advance.
    Last edited by Crake; 05-13-2012 at 07:18 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Welcome aboard Crake, this is the plays to learn more about jazz guitar, a lot of great people here to answer your questions.

User Info Menu

Wanna learn blues / rock? go learn 2 pentatonic shapes and figure out the main licks everyone plays. Coupla chord grips, a distortion pedal and you're good to go. Might take you a year to get good enough for the stage. Maybe you'll get bored after a while, or hear some Wes or Pass... "hey, I like this Jazz sound, maybe I'll buy a book and learn me those scales and chords"....