The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Hello all. Just a quick rant on my new found love of transcribing. I'm sure everybody know's how important it is already, but I wanted to post something for people that may be like me. Transcribing was always a daunting task and I would easily get overwhelmed and kinda forget about it. I don't consider myself a pro by any means but I don't consider myelf a total beginner either. That being said I kept wondering why I just can never cross that threshold like some of the better players I know. I think there's always a need to improve one's knowledge of the fretboard so finding the right notes is not an issue; but beyond that I think transcription is the key. I used to bite off more than I could chew transcribing and I would get overwhelmed. Awhile ago I heard a nice Bill Frisell solo and decided I wanted to learn it. So I did. And things just started snowballing from there. I've since transcribed some Chris Potter and right now I'm learning some Sonny Rollins. People say to analyze what they're doing and that's true; but I believe it's just as important just to play along and get a sense of their feel. And coneptually the ideas they're playing, where they're starting and stopping phrases, how they manipulate one motif to become something èlse. The things that are sort of intangible, or at least impossible to trully get from a book. Anyway, that was a long winded way of saying that one should transcribe. Find a solo you enjoy and want to learn, I think that's important, keep it simple and just go for it. Slowly at first and go from there. It does get easier. If you're like me an get overwhelmed, pick an nice simple solo to start and just do a littl bit at a time. You'll find yourself improving like crazy. Take care all.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I like to hear nice solo and transcribe it.
    Sometimes it is hard work and sometimes not.