The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 150

User Info Menu

Can anyone help? I don't know where to start on approaching tasteful jazz blues improvisation.

I never really learned the blues, but I've been playing jazz for a few years. I don't know how I passed it up, and I'm always kind of embarrassed to asks my teacher I've been with.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

We talking a jazz blues or a three chord blues?

User Info Menu

No need to feel embarrassed, we've all got plenty to learn

I'd suggest first listening to blues and jazz/blues players you like, and trying to cop what you can from their playing. Kenny Burrell, Wes Montgomery, and Joe Pass, to name just a few, all have some great examples of jazz/blues (and each one approaches it somewhat differently).

If you play jazz, you probably already know the common chords for blues progressions: I7 IV7 & V7 (in minor i7 iv7 & V7). Besides major and minor, the most common scales are Mixolydian (the V7 scale), the pentatonic scale and the blues scale (with b5). You could start by making yourself thoroughly familiar with 12-bar blues progressions, and try soloing over them with a mix of these scales.

Typical blues guitar relies a bit more on "position" playing than jazz playing, and relies more on melodic patterns (aka "licks") - jazz/blues doesn't stick to these, but makes use of them to keep a bluesy sound and character.

I'm sure others will add much more to this bare-bones reply...

User Info Menu

Thanks for the posts thus far everyone!

I am talking about jazz blues, but I suppose blues as a whole is just as appropriate. In my playing when improvising over 7th chords, I play basic mixolydian, though my ideas do not sound like the blues...

User Info Menu

I do approach a jazz blues and a three chord blues differently, but the overall idea is the same--KISS principle (Keep it SOULFUL, Stupid)