The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 90

User Info Menu

I'm trying to sound more like a tenor sax on my guitar, I know the guitar is never going to sound exactly like a sax, but I'd like to get more of a sax type sound.

Any tips?

I love Ben Webster's breathy tone, but that breathy tone can't be achieved on guitar.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Instead of pretending I'm an expert on this and telling you what to do, I'll give you what I can say with confidence-- how to NEVER sound like a horn player.

1. Pick every note
    2. Play everything in position (no jumping around)
    3. Keep playing even while you are naturally drawing in a breath
    4. Only listen to/transcribe guitar players

User Info Menu

Dig some Alan Holdsworth. When I first heard Bruford I thought "Nice sax playing".

User Info Menu

Same as Jeff ... I love saxophone players and will never sound like one, so here are some things that I've found I have to work on to even hang with saxophone licks.

1. Super fluid left hand slurs (usually into down beats).
    2. Moving positions in a way that makes triplet turns sound natural.
    3. Small three and four-string sweeps (triads and root position seventh chords mostly)

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by voxo
    Yes, I think that is the best approach to getting a guitar to sound slightly more like a sax.

User Info Menu