The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Hey everyone. I'm primarily a fingerstyle player but after long hours of practice my right hand feels like its getting run over by a truck from doing lots of fast rest strokes. So to prevent things from escalating further I might as well incorporate a completedly different way of playing hence the pick. I feel confident enough in my fingerstyle abilities to branch out anyways so getting a handle on the pick would be a good thing for me. I'm a noob at picking though so when I try to speed up I end up not being consistent in the rhythm. Does anyone have any recommendations on how to get started with the pick?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Are you playing on nylon strings? Then I'd suggest a good damping technique with the left hand so as to let your right hand float free.

When you're only getting startet, you have a good chance to develop a sound technique, not the mess that many players are stuck with because they never learned it properly and now it's too late.

On a nylon string guitar, you'll get the best sound with rest strokes so why not learn Gypsy picking? There are plenty of tutorials, but the gist is:

- use downstrokes whenever you can, particularly when you change strings,
    - let your pick rest on the next lower string after a downstroke,
    - use the upstroke as a rebound.

As always, you'll have to start slowly and pay attention to the movements. It may be a good idea to make quick movements (i.e. strokes), but not play too fast. Dotted eighth notes are a good way to start. Play a scale in even eights, then dotted eights followed by a sixteenth, then the other way round - a sixteenth followed by a dotted eight. Then move on to even sixteenths. Use a metronome to increase your speed.

Now I wish I had heeded my own advice way back when...

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by docsteve