The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I used to be a rock guitarist back in the 70s, but moved to classical guitar. I found myself resorting to finger style for nearly everything. After many years of being away from the pick, I am trying to get back to using it. I find it a bit awkward and want to slip out of my find. Couple questions:

1. What pick do you use? Thick, thin, small/large?
    2. Do you anchor the fingers on the pick guard? I used to, but trying to free myself from that, or should I?
    3. Any suggestions for working back to a proficient picking technique?

Thanks in advance for any input on this.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

This is a vast thread on the subject of Benson picking. It is now 69 pages long.

Benson Picking technique on Gibson L5 Wesmo

Fender Medium is the most popular pick for that sort of playing.

Here is one of many threads about guitar picks

What kind of Guitar Picks do you use?

This thread focuses on the "rest stroke," which is fundamental for Gypsy jazz playing (and is also used by guitarists playing in other styles.)
    Does any use the "rest stroke"?

And here is a recent thread about Paul Gilbert's more recent teaching about learning to alternate pick

Paul Gilbert and the Secret of Alternate Picking

User Info Menu

I know it sounds stupid, but just do down strokes all the time for a bit
    Last edited by christianm77; 12-11-2016 at 11:09 AM.

User Info Menu

Down rest strokes.... If you can't physically play it all with downstrokes you may be permitted to sneak in a slur or an upstroke.

But you should feel shame when you do it. And certainly don't let anyone catch you doing it. :-)

That will see you through medium tempo single time. For fast tempos and double time it gets a bit more involved. There are different schools.