The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hello Everyone,
    I play guitar for about 2 years and I try to develop my speed.
    So I started playing scales with metronome, and I got to eights notes at about 130 bpm pretty fast and slowly climbed up to 150 bpm. But at 150 bpm I always get stuck. My technique starts screw up, I miss notes, I pick wrong strings and I fret wrong frets. Somedays I am suprisingly able to play at 150 and start climbing and i can go all the way to almost 160 and then the next day I screw up again at 150.
    How can I progress?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The reason for hitting speed walls are motion problems. Review your motion and you will past that Wall.
    Something that Works for me is to separate hand practice and to play only the right hand motion and then the left hand in order to discover what is the hand limiting my speed.
    Last edited by sjl; 05-04-2016 at 06:03 AM.

User Info Menu

After 2 years of playing, you should be focussing on about 20 other things that have nothing to do with speed. You atre talking about Jazz guitar, right?

Speed will come as other aspects develop. If you have speed without the other things, you have nothing!

thequickbrownfoxjumpsoverthelazydog

1. How fast did I just type that?

2. Who the f*ck cares?

User Info Menu

Well summarized, princeplanet !

to try to answer you 2nd question, I'd ask another question : are shredders jazz oriented ?

There are other threads connected to this subject, if you wish to see demos of unmusical performance .;.

Hey princeplanet got your point. I guess I really should focus on other things now

User Info Menu

Speed is the fringe benefit of excellent technique, it comes on it's own.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by zorner
    Hey princeplanet got your point. I guess I really should focus on other things now