The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43

User Info Menu

Hi,

i have studied some Videos of fast and fluid Pickers like Adam Rogers, Jimmy Bruno, Andreas Öberg and Mike Moreno. I am sure that they mostly Use Economy picking.

But I am not sure about Jonathan Kreisbergs technique. Does he Use strict alternate picking or economy as well ? I have used strict alternate picking also when i made string changes for a long time. But i switched to economy picking for a more comfortable and fluid picking style like adam rogers . Now i studied Jonathan and iam really impressed by his nailing picking Style. So what is this guy doing ?

thank You, greets ginod

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Listening to his new album, Wave Upon Wave, I hear a lot of legato, Holdsworth style picking in which it sounds like his index finger is serving as a movable capo and his other fingers are playing most of the notes. It gives him a fluid, sax-like feel. So many would call that an economy type approach. However, he also alternate picks (again based on listening to him as I have never seen him in person).

User Info Menu

Hi Ginod,
    I've hosted a few workshops with Jonathan Kreisberg. In the first, he was grilled at length by some shred-rock type guys about his picking. From memory and observation, I would say that JK does not have a fixed approach to picking and that he would say "do whatever it takes to get the music out". He was against any strict approach that might impact on your musical choices - for example, a strict 3 notes per string, sweeping technique.

User Info Menu

I'd say he generally uses alternate picking as his "default" technique, and economy/sweep picking and hammer-ons and pul-offs when he wants his phrases to sound more legato.

User Info Menu