The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 71

User Info Menu

I'm not really a beginner considering my guitar learning experience over the last 10 years but I feel like the beginner. Not sure you can help me with this but maybe someone will have an idea what to do about it.

I've been practicing over last 10 years almost without breaks, at least 1 hour a day except weekends but often 2 hours and longer. Ive learned the CAGED scale patterns, arpeggio patterns, Drop2 and Drop3 chords, triads in all iversions, three note shell chords and some other stuff. I know the fingerboard well enough to name the notes and intervals.
    Oh, I started with guitar late, when I was 35 if it matters.

My problem is that with all that knowledge that I engraved into my memory I can't apply it successfully: I experience serious problems with finger coordination and precision.

Just to illustrate what I mean here is how it feels to me: whenever I pick up my guitar the next day it feels like a foreign instrument to me. If someone watched me for the first 20 minutes of my "warming up" they would think I'm a beginner with maybe 1 year experience.
    However I've seen many people with 1 year guitar experience who were light years ahead of me in terms of finger coordination and precision. Most people who played for 5 years can pickup a guitar and just play it - I can't.

What exactly wrong with my finger coordination and precision: I can't just pickup guitar and play. As I said, it feels like a foreign instrument to me for the first 30 minutes of 1-2-3-4 and other stuff (scales, arps, etc.) that I use to warm up - very slowly with great concentration. Often it takes me over 40 minutes to get into some useable shape.
    However even then I don't feel like playing with ease: for some reason I have to be very careful and if I'm not I'm missing strings either with single lines or in chords.