The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hey guys! I've been playing guitar for a few years, and for some years I attended a private music school. I went through a rock course, and then 2 or 3 years of jazz+theory courses. The best times to me were learning how all seems to be linked theoretically, and then applying that during improvisation and all that.

However, I recently had to move to another country. A few months back, I went to another music school in here, but they only had private classes. No school that I can find in this small town has group practice that I can attend - they are either too expensive, or only a select number of people can be on the "shool's band". Having said this, I am struggling to try and stay motivated to keep practicing, but the joy of discovering something new and applying it on the guitar is something that I want to keep getting.

Having said this, I'd like to ask you the following questions:

1. Do you recommend any self-learning guitar and music theory books?
    2. What do you do to stay motivated when you have to practice and improvise only using backing tracks? (and what resources do you use?)
    3. Do you recommend any online resources where I can learn and practice new things?

Thanks for all the help!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sorry to hear about your predicament. As far as backing tracks, I've found youtube to have some excellent backing tracks for most standards. Type in the name of the standard followed by "play along" and you should get some exciting backing tracks which you could play over. The other choice would be to use Band in a Box software to create your own backing tracks.

As to whether or not you would benefit from online guitar courses, I've read quite a few positive testimonials from people who have studied with people like Jimmy Bruno. I have learned quite a lot from our own forum members Mat Warnock and Jens Larson.