The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Hi,
    I have a transcription for Blues for Alice from a Charlie Parker book and it starts at the tenth postion and after two bars shifts to the 5th.. and a few bars later 7th.. by that point I got bored and started working it out myself..

What I have noticed is that I can just as easily play it on the 10th position give or take.. I am no longer avoiding the D string and it makes it easier to transpose as well

I know everything is judged on a case by case basis but in general do you avoid jumping around like that vs staying anchored in one position.

Bear in mind I am a novice to the nth degree.. I watched the Joe P vid last night and he is all over the map. I am not talking so much about soloing or comping but doing a head like this.. how do you approach it?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My approach is to scan the music to find the lowest and highest notes and play a head where no movement (or very little) is needed. Now, this method goes out the door if octaves, arps and chords are included.

User Info Menu

I try to move around because from listening to musicians that do you hear how much better the phrasing is, because the timbre of the passages aren't changing all the time like it does when changing strings. The one who really triggered this was watching a bunch of Pat Metheny video, then Scofield, and more and more. Then my guitar teacher had me work on soloing using only two strings that really nailed. Start experimenting you'll hear the difference.

As to fingerings in books the problem is most are bad because they usually are not done by the author. After emailing a few authors asking about fingerings they said the big publishers have staff that create fingerings for the TAB. Most authors say the same thing most teachers do, try it and then find what works for you. I the long run you are your own best teacher.

User Info Menu