The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hi

Recently I am beginning to hate my pick! I have been playing guitar for over 30 years (Jazz for around 5).
    Here's the dilemma!

I'm currently in Saudi Arabia and for the last few weeks I was pickless! I mean I had no spare picks so I started playing with my thumb! Quite simply the tone and accuracy I got was unbeatable! When my picks finally arrived from Amazon I hated them. The cons of a pick in my case are a complete loss of feel and sensitivity when playing!

In fact this leads me to the conclusion that the only advantage of using a pick is speed!

Speed?- I know a lot of players say speed is not important? But IT IS! Some tunes require a particular tempo, end of!

So here's my question....

Any advice on training your thumb to pick a little quicker without mashing it?

All I need to add to my current thumb picking tempo is another 10 BPM or so and I will donate all my picks to the bin!

Any advice is more than welcome!

Thanks and kindest regards

Eddie

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm not a pick user really and come to jazz/steel string guitar from a classical guitar/lute background where the thumb and all fingers (well, index, middle, annular and some pinky) are used for picking.

So for single line stuff, soloing etc, I borrow a technique from renaissance lute and early guitar which kind of imitates the down - up feel and sound of using a pick...alternate plucking down with the thumb and up with the index finger. The arm/hand motion to do this is very similar to the motion while using a pick and some of the Renaissance lute playing guys can burn up the strings like nobody's business with this picking style. You can adapt it to your regular picking style as you see fit as all you're really doing is substituting thumb and first finger for what the pick usually did...make sense out of that description?