The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

I’m new to modelers and multi effects units: are there on the web some good guides about how to choose the one which fits your needs?
    and some tips about how to set up tones…

I have a boss me 80 which seems to me just a toy and not a pro tool. But maybe I’m not good enough to set it up.
    I need some smooth overdrive tone and some fat clean (delay, compressor, reverb) that I hear around on the web but I’m not able to replicate.

I’ve always been a guitar-cable-amp guy but lately my taste has changed.

thanks for any advice.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I don't believe there is a single source for advice on setting up a signal chain. There are lots of videos on U tube. Many are useless or worse (with bad advice). Some are informative.

It requires time, learning, and some investment to get a high quality sound.

User Info Menu

There's nothing for it but to put in the time.

I suggest you set a price target range and then investigate what's available in that price range more closely. Say your price range was US$500-$700, you'd be able to include Line 6 HX Effects, HX Stomp, Boss GX-100, and probably several others. Start watching YouTube videos about those boxes.

There's not much conceptual difference between a bunch of pedals and a multi-effects box. Start simple, with maybe a reverb, and get used to that; then add some modulation, and play with that awhile, and so forth.