The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Dear all, I'm pretty new to guitar and VERY new to jazz guitar and have an itch for an archtop. My criteria is one with a single pickup, 3.0" thick maximum (a bit less is fine and maybe better given my body and bum shoulder!!), 16" bout, and a price (in the U.S.) of no more than $2,500.

I'm leaning strongly towards a new guitar - I've looked at specs on Eastman, Guild, Peerles. Comins and Conti. A few that stand out are the Eastman AR503CE, the Guild Newark Street A50, Peerless Monarch Custom 16, Conti Heirloom and a Comins GCS-16-1 (which is particularly attractive to me), so any comments on any of those would help.

But I suspect folks here will know of many others that fit my criteria.

Thanks for any suggestions, comments, recommendations, etc

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by wmlaven View Post
    Dear all, I'm pretty new to guitar and VERY new to jazz guitar and have an itch for an archtop. My criteria is one with a single pickup, 3.0" thick maximum (a bit less is fine and maybe better given my body and bum shoulder!!), 16" bout, and a price (in the U.S.) of no more than $2,500.

I'm leaning strongly towards a new guitar - I've looked at specs on Eastman, Guild, Peerles. Comins and Conti. A few that stand out are the Eastman AR503CE, the Guild Newark Street A50, Peerless Monarch Custom 16, Conti Heirloom and a Comins GCS-16-1 (which is particularly attractive to me), so any comments on any of those would help.

But I suspect folks here will know of many others that fit my criteria.

Thanks for any suggestions, comments, recommendations, etc
    I think you might mean Guild A-150, not A-50 (the A-50 is a vintage acoustic, not a current production electric)? Anyway, the A-150 is a 17" guitar, not 16". I tried a couple, and liked , but for me lack of a tone control and 17" body were deal breakers