The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Howdy, I'm a non-jazz guitarist that became a jazz bassist (out of my bands necessity) now making the foray into jazz guitar! I'm trying to dial in a good tone and I want something smooth that cuts through, driven or boosted in some way. I'm just not sure how to dial in an overdrive for such a tone, it always seems too hairy for a jazz setting. A really good example is the guitar in Games by Kris Berg:

I love the tone it has with the sax solis and during the guitar solo and any tips on how I could start to match that tone would be much appreciated!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The guitar tone is your classic Dumble ODS amp tone.

There are a number of ways to get that tone.

A real Dumble amp $100,000+
    A Dumble clone amp $5,000+
    A Dumble pedal in front of a Fender style tube amp. There a great number of these pedals out there for around $200-$300.
    I own and recommend the Mad Professor Simble.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by DRS View Post

A Dumble pedal in front of a Fender style tube amp. There a great number of these pedals out there for around $200-$300.
    Yep, pedal and tube amp will get you there!

OP - welcome to the Forum!

You can spend hours over at TheGearPage sifting through threads on amps/pedals for this tone, so lots of options (too many!) -- happy hunting!

Enjoy the fabulous world of jazz guitar!

Peace,

Marc

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by DRS View Post