The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Does anyone have any experience with the larger Swart amps (Atomic Space Tone or Antares)?

I normally use a Henriksen 10.

But I have had the little Swart 6v6 SE for years but hadn’t played it for such a long time- I grabbed it the other day and was very impressed by how touch sensitive and expressive it was- it really felt like I was playing the amp as much as the guitar, as the old saying goes, and it was a magical feeling and addictive.

but the 6V6 only has an 8inch speaker and very little bass and at 5 watts not much clean headroom with humbuckers.

i wondered whether anyone has the 12 inch speaker Swarts mentioned above which also have circa 20 Watts

if so what is your experience?

thank you

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have a Swart AST Master. I love it. I don't think the master volume works very well, I never use it. But love the amp otherwise. The Master is a bigger combo than the standard AST, so it has a bigger sound with more low end. The regular AST is great too... the real reason I bought the Master was the top-mounted controls. I can't get on with the rear-mounted controls of the standard AST. I switch guitars alot at home, and I need controls easily accessible that I can see at a glance.

FWIW, when I play my humbucker guitars I do go into the LO input; they are pretty hot into the HI input.

User Info Menu

Some of the finest amps made. Beautiful clean tones. Thick harmonically rich breakup when pushed.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by timsmcm
    Some of the finest amps made. Beautiful clean tones. Thick harmonically rich breakup when pushed.
    thank you

was there a Swart amp in particular you had in mind please?

User Info Menu

Swart AST Pro Combo Amp, Dark Tweed | Humbucker Music
    Wonderful amp. Works at home or on stage.

User Info Menu

Also easy to tote. Guitar in one hand amp in the other.