The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi all,
    I’m a retired professional guitarist from the US turned English Teacher in Spain. I’ve lived in France where I discovered and ordered a Toob Metro 6.5GP+ cabinet. Originally, I paired it with a Quilter Microblock 45 and tried a Quilter Superblock UK. For some odd reason, I went back to the Microblock and left the Superblock UK in storage last Christmas.

The Microblock for whatever sounded better with this cabinet and my Ibanez AF71F guitar with D’Addario flatwounds than the Superblock UK, I crank the knob in the middle and also use an EQ pedal to boost the mids some more and reduce some treble, but I would be perfectly fine without the EQ pedal.

I can’t really say if this would hang on gigs, as I haven’t played a gig in over 3 years and live in a rather rural area of Spain, but this setup is quite easy to travel with for when I have to move.

Here’s a video of me doing something that would get me disavowed, excommunicated, banned, blacklisted, and possibly assassinated if I ever were to come out of retirement and do this in a professional music scene. That is playing Cherokee with a chill R&B groove with A LOT of improvised block chord solos.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu