The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 77

User Info Menu

I want to darken my sound. Playing a Seymour Duncan 59 in an Eastman carved Jazz Elite 16 - 7. Ordered a B7 I will probably put in it.
    I was recommended to put in a 0.047 oil and paper capacitor. Lou at Guitars n Jazz strongly recommends the Bumblebee capacitor. I have no experience with either. Does anybody really know about these things from personal experience that would be willing to comment? Thank you so much.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The divide is so sharp that there are essentially two kinds of people: Those who claim that capacitors of the same value have the same electrical effect no matter what they're made of, and those who claim to be able to hear some difference between items with identical electrical value.

I'm firmly in the first group.
    We like to remind folks that the vintage Fender guitars we all love so much shipped with those mica caps which are just so uncool.

All the best with your quest.

Thanks. Since I posted that question I've read a couple of long threads discussing the debate you refer to. So maybe my new question should be where can I get a high quality modern capacitor? They're also seems to be a debate about whether an 047 is any better than an 022. I definitely want a darker tone but I don't know whether that's a good idea or not. Thanks again.

User Info Menu