The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

As I mentioned on the semi-hollow thread, i just changed pickups from Kent Armstrong designed (MIK by Sky) Six Shooters (HPAG) to Stew Mac Parsons Streets.

The main rationale was that the KAs’ relatively bright and percussive sound (alnico V, 8.9k) had done the opposite of growing on me recently (after owning the guitar for 13 years), and I found myself wanting to change it up. I’ve also never swapped pickups before and was curious. I went down the rabbit hole of pick-up specs and reviews for a while, guessed that a more PAF-like spec was where I wanted to go, and picked the Stew Macs because they seemed like a good match and value.

[Edit: I got Alnico II for both bridge and neck; regular (not overwound), which around 7k neck and 8k for the bridge according to Stew Mac.

Installation was an adventure. I’m not good at electronics, but decided to give it a go. Nope. Bailed and brought to a tech after a few hours of not figuring out why it didn’t work. My tech friend invited me to watch him sort it out, and gave me some tips along the way. So if there’s a next time, I may be able to handle it.

The verdict: Very interesting. I did some before and after recordings of clean, crunch, and dirty sounds in my DAW, using the same settings for both. The neck pickup difference was small, bordering on unnoticeable. The bridge pickups were more noticeable, with the Parsons Streets sounding better. I also played a bit through my amp quietly, and the differences were more noticeable, but still kind of subtle.

Last night I went to a jam, and at stage volumes with other instruments, the differences were quite stark. I played several standards, plus one blues-blues with some overdrive, which gave me a pretty full picture.