The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

Hi folks again,

You were all so helpful with my LP issue which I think I have tamed for the time being.

I continue to search for that 'sound'. I've pasted a link below comparing a tele with a strat. My son has a couple of nice Fender strats - very beautiful. My question is not about the strat but about the tele.

I looking for something that has that signature sound out of the 'box'. I've listened to hundreds of guitar reviews, and frankly I don't if I can trust them.

So here's my questions:

1. Is he using any effects to product that sound?

2. I'm a beginning guitarist and I recognize the importance of knowledge and technique, but could I get that sound just noodling around?

3. Does that sound come down to the amp?

I love the idea of tele because it's formula is simple and seems to be made with common parts.

For about a week I've been staring at full hollow and semi-hollow arch tops. Part of the draw is the beauty of the instrument. Mainly some budget minded ones: D'Angelico, Ibanez, etc. $300 to $450 range I like single cuts, and I worry about handling feedback so I'm leaning more to semi-hollow. But every time I get fixed on something I have to have, I'll read someone raving about tele's. And I see a video like this and I lose my mind, wishing I could make music like that too.

Last edited by teagueAMX; 03-11-2024 at 11:16 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Without knowing the amp, I can't say. There is some reverb there, and it could come from an amp or a pedal. There may be other effects, but again I can't say, because some amps provide multiple effects built-in. The guy in the video doesn't say, or whether the same effects are being used for both guitars. It's just another useless YouTube video.

User Info Menu