The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31
    I just acquired (on a whim) a (pretty sure) 1941 Gibson L-50 in fantastic shape. I have always been interested in old ES-125/150 guitars and this L-50 popped up at my local GC so I had to try it out and unfortunately, haha, it was in great shape and plays really well...had to grab it. I was floored by the sound; very loud and mid-range forward. I'm not typically a jazz guy as far as my playing, I play jam rock lead in bands and am a fairly methodical player...nothing too fancy, nothing too fast, melody over flare, on the blusier-side of things. I do love, and have covered, Scofield and Bobby Lee Rodgers in the past and have recently gotten into Grant Green stuff so I may start learning more of that style (I'm self-taught, played as a gigging musician for 20 yrs now, usually lead guitar). Figured I'd check this forum out so I can start going down that road a bit more and expand my playing some.

As far as the Gibson goes, I traded in a D'Angelico EXL-1 (Excel model) and a Charvel DK22 SuperStrat for it and am very happy. The D'Angelico is a phenomenal guitar, but the feedback was so bad in that massive thing that I couldn't possibly gig it with my current projects, but I did record some with it so it will be missed. I never bonded with the SD Custom Johnny Smith in it either. I do, however, recommend it for a really nice jazz box under 2k. Unreal build quality and playability. I have a Krivo PAF on order now for the L-50 bc if I can tame the feedback, I intend to gig it. I know its no p90 or ES-125, but I'm hoping with some minor tweaks I can get in the realm of bluesy drive territory with it through my Fuchs or Quilter amp and an EQ pedal to shape the sound.