The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

I'm new to playing guitars. Just started taking lesions.

I recently bought a beautiful 'Les Paul', upgraded the cheap pickups to Epiphone ProBuckers and 500k pots kit, replaced the nut, and had it professionally setup. The guitar has beautiful sustain. Keeps it's tune. It has a mahogany body/neck, no maple top, which I'm sure affects tone, but it's lighter, I'm 65 and the only one listening to it. I'm using 10-46ga round wound strings. Tried 11's flatwound but my fingers couldn't take it. Others have played it and say it sounds really good.

I don't know what I expected, maybe something more mellow like an acoustical, but I can't stand the ringing jangley sound - strumming open chords: B & high E really bug me. It's hard to practice.

I figured out what sound I want is jazz - nice mellow tones. Light blues is OK too. George Benson and BB King are some of my all time favorites.

People talk about Seymour Duncan Seth Lover. I've been looking at getting a neck PRail, but the P90 seems like it may be a Jeckle/Hyde. Maybe an Ibanez's GB special, or maybe a Epiphone Calibrated T-Type - it's like a maze. I just don't know and I'm tired of wasting money. Advice will be to buy a different guitar but I don't want go there just yet - maybe in a year I'll be asking advice about that. I want to at least learn to play this thing 1st and confirm which direction I'm going.

I'm open to advice/suggestions.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Firstly, welcome to the forum/group, and welcome of the many joys of learning guitar!