The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

I purchased my first nylon string guitar a couple weeks ago which is a Sadowsky Electric Nylon. Actually, this specific S/N guitar is the one that was reviewed by Jazz Guitar Today online magazine recently. Beautiful guitar. No doubt about it. This will be my seventh Sadowsky so I'm no stranger to Roger's impeccable work.

Having said that, I'm a newbie to the world of nylon strings and have a question/observation. I know nylon strings tend to be more sensitive to steel with regards to temperature/tuning. Last night I noticed that the second string (B) kept going sharp on me. After a while it settled down as I was waiting for the temperature in my home studio to come up. Been a bit cold here in Southern Oregon lately. Now, I can fully understand why nylon will loosen up and decrease in tension as the air warms and going flat, but in this case it seemed to be increasing going sharp. And ONLY the B string.
    This all points to the particular string but the physics behind it is what's got me perplexed.

EDIT: I think I figured this out after typing all of this. It was probably still reacting to the cold in the room when I took it out of the case before it could warm up again and equalize.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I’m not aware of nylon responding to temp changes. If it did, I’d expect all three of them to go sharp. Your B string going sharp might indicate that there’s friction at the nut and/or the bridge. It happens, even on very good guitars. Try some graphite from a pencil and see if it helps.

User Info Menu

Congratulations on the new acquisition!

Nylon strings are certainly very different in many respects to steel strings, and will take a little time to get used to. You can stretch them out a bit every day for a week, then they should settle. But they will never settle for a prolonged time.