The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Greetings all, I am very new to jazz guitar though I have been playing acoustic, mostly folk-ish rhythm and finger style stuff for the last 30 years. I’ve recently started working my way through the Mickey Baker book due largely to recommendations from this forum and have been lurking in the shadows for a while now.

Over the years I have developed a decided preference for wider nuts on my acoustics. 1 ¾ is sort of a minimum at this point. I’ve noted that on several electrics and Jazz Guitars, a more typical range is 1 5/8 – 1 11/16 width. I have noted exceptions to this (Eastman) but for the most part, most of the guitars I might consider interesting have a narrower nut width than my current preference. I know that eventually I’m going to want to invest in a guitar more appropriate for jazz.

I was wondering if a narrower nut is actually preferable to a wider nut in jazz, especially fingerstyle jazz. I should also mention that while I really like the sound of an acoustic archtop, I’m really more looking electric oriented hollow body or semi hollow body instruments if that makes a difference.

Any insights regarding nut width for jazz styles would be greatly appreciated.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Nut widths on electric guitars seems to be classified as narrow (1 5/8) medium (1 11/16) and wide (1 3/4). I prefer the wide, especially for fingerstyle playing. I don't think there is an advantage to a narrower nut, although some people may simply prefer the feel. If you go to custom builders like USACG , you can get a super-wide (1 7/8) Tele neck, but the body pocket will have to be wider to match the neck's heel.

The Sadowsky Jim Hall model, which a lot of forum member think is an amazing ES-175 style guitar, has a 1 3/4" nut.

EDIT: