The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 34

User Info Menu

The subject of string grounds and shielding came up in another thread. I have observations and question. I am sure you all do too. I know I have discussed this in other forums and people tend to get a little quiet.. hopefully people have experiences and tips to share.

I have a fender Jazzmaster. I also live in a VERY noisy house (buzz, hum, call it what you will). Jazzmasters are REALLY bad for this. Thin, wide coils. By changing my position (rotating the guitar towards North East ) I can increase or decrease the hum (which in my mind rules out dirty mains as a major source of noise). So I decided to shield it.

Removed all the original wiring including the pickup leads. replaced them with gibsonesque wire (braided shield). I used this everywhere. (pickup to controls to output) This is in addition to factory foil and paint job. I also copper taped and grounded the pickup covers (yes.. I went THAT far) I have read numerous times that changing the leads tends to roll off high end because of increased capacitance. I can live with that. I have attached a pic of the end result . The cables I use are good quality (but a little older) belden cables. about 8ft. The amps used were a Princeton reverb clone, Deluxe Reverb, YGM-4 Studio mate set for clean, no pedals. The pickups are SD SJM-1s RW/RP

What did I notice?

1) With the volume rolled all the way off. No hum (no surprise but it rules out a noisy amp.

2) When using the neck or the bridge pickup VERY noisy. In my house basicallly unusable I didnt notice a big difference in before and after shielding

3)when I touch the strings now there is no Click and drop in hum. Almost like the strings are not grounded. (yes.. I checked.. they are). So the hum is there.. but it is consistant.