The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 81

User Info Menu

Hi everyone! First post here so please be gentle
    I started learning Jazz a few months ago. Still learning harmony and basic standards. Currently I play with my Strat that I used for playing Blues but I am in the market for some Jazz gear.

I really love that Martin Taylor Artistry tone and also that early Benson punchier tone. My questions is - is there any guitar & amp combination that would allow me to have that acoustic to heavy and punchy tone range?

Hope my question makes sense.
    Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Welcome to the forum.

Heavy gauge flatwound strings through a neck pickup should get you near your destination regardless of the guitar you choose.

Keep in mind that this is a gear forum, so you'll often get really detailed and esoteric answers to some questions that aren't so tough to answer.

User Info Menu

If you have a Strat, you already have jazz gear.

Great jazz has been played on a Strat or similar. Check out Lorne Lofsky. Mike Stern (who played a Strat with Miles Davis).

I've heard Benson on several different guitars. To me, he always sounds like Benson.

That's not to say that all guitars sound the same. But, when you're after somebody's sound, you may find out that even the exact same gear doesn't necessarily get you there.

Good luck!

User Info Menu

Welcome, Dave!

Lots of "new to jazz, what gear do I buy?" posts here, so look around for other ideas!

That being said, the others have answered your question (for now): use what you already have!