The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hi! First post by a longtime lurker!

I've been playing my LP and Stratocaster for the last 5 years but i've dived deeper and deeper into jazz lately, looking to buy my first "jazz-guitar".

I am incredibly inspired by the simplicity of Pat martino's black Benedetto. But i also want a more traditional jazz-guitar to start out with.

Basically i want to find a guitar with a sweet, mellow and warm tone somewhere in the 1500$ area. Preferably no inlays, simple, beautiful design. Archtop/Hollowbody. Not a fan of the flashy gold/silver details and pickups but that´s less important. Preferably with two pickups as i like to switch tone often, but one is okay.

I've been looking at the Eastman guitars but from what i've heard they sound very bright and tinny. Was also looking at the LGB30. Is it possible to get a warmer sound with the Eastman guitars without too much hassle? Any other recommendations?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Godin 5th Avenue Jazz or Kingpin models may fit your descriptions and price.

Peerless also has guitars with no inlays this one is $2200: Peerless Imperial Sangria Archtop Guitar #PE0902149 - Used

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Wallenberg
    Hi! First post by a longtime lurker!

I've been playing my LP and Stratocaster for the last 5 years but i've dived deeper and deeper into jazz lately, looking to buy my first "jazz-guitar".

I am incredibly inspired by the simplicity of Pat martino's black Benedetto. But i also want a more traditional jazz-guitar to start out with.

Basically i want to find a guitar with a sweet, mellow and warm tone somewhere in the 1500$ area. Preferably no inlays, simple, beautiful design. Archtop/Hollowbody. Not a fan of the flashy gold/silver details and pickups but that´s less important. Preferably with two pickups as i like to switch tone often, but one is okay.