The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

i have a old gibson ES-350 that has been modified a bit over the years (buckers, changed tuners; not sure about bridge and TP). i seem to remember a '55 FON and '56 serial. i stumbled across a JG thread (dutch bopper?) on these guitars; i wasn't aware that they were kinda limited in production overall. i've always thought it had a solid top, apparently an uncommon thing per the thread. i am fairly well versed on vintage acoustic archtops but i'm not very experienced on electrics, hollow or solid. i've never even taken a pickup out. doh!

on my acoustics, you typically can see the grain lines somewhere along the Fhole edges if not bound or painted. seems strange but its not as clear on this one. so i looked on the underside of the top plate at the bass Fhole. at the wing (point) of the lower eye, there are grain lines with medium spacing on the top of the plate. on the underside of that wing, the grain lines appear to be the same as on the top. at the wing of the upper eye, the top shows a tighter grain than at the more lateral lower eye. the grain under the upper wing is a similarly tighter grain as on the surface. the match up suggests solid top to me. the top plate, at least at the Fholes, seems thinner than on my acoustic archies (primarily 30's n 40's). the not obvious grain on Fhole edges and the thinner top plate make me think lam plate but the apparently similar grain lines on both sides of the top plate make me think solid. note that i'm away and not near that guitar currently.

so my question for those of you with mid-50's ES175's etc with a lam top plate: what is the inside layer of the lam top? does it show matching/any grain lines or is it a more featureless layer, kind of lauan underlayment like in appearance?
    thanks for your assistance. b