The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 82

User Info Menu

Couldn't figure out which subgroup to post this in, so it's here for now.

Are you folks still using CDs? Or have you gone totally digital? Or a mix? I'm still a CD user, I have over 200. I still like the convenience of grabbing one when I want to listen to it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have probably 500 CDs and I have gone digital.

Ironically, for the same reason. I subscribe to YouTube Music and I enjoy the convenience of finding what I want to listen to in seconds.

I also use it to make my own playlists. I have built a Jim Hall playlist with 12 hours of songs. Peter Bernstein, 13 hours. 10 hours of various guitar trio recordings. On and on…

When I’m studying a song for a jazz workshop I joined, I curate many examples of that song as a playlist. I’ve also freely shared links to my song lists with others in the same group.

I’m continually surprised with new discoveries I make: new releases I read about in Down Beat, artists I hadn’t heard before, artists that played on an album I never knew about…YouTube Music also lets you add videos to playlists. Sometimes the sound quality isn’t good, sometimes it is. I don’t watch the videos in my playlists, I just listen, but it greatly expands my options to listen to the artist I want to listen to.

In my office I listen on an iPad plugged into a stereo. In my car I listen to songs on my iPhone over Bluetooth. At home I listen either on earphones or over speakers via Bluetooth. On a plane I listen with earplugs.

Not going back…

cheers,
    Jon

P.S.: I have a CD collection for sale.

User Info Menu

CDs for home and car listening.

User Info Menu