The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

hello What brand of tubes and type do you use for fender twin reverb 65 reissue POWER amp?
    jazz tone.
    ***ONLY TR RE 65*** POWER AMP only.

no other amps, for sale, no preamp tubes, no web adv, no sales etc
    just power amp choice.
    Last edited by archtopdream63; 04-08-2021 at 10:11 PM. Reason: wrong title

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I use original blackface Twins almost exclusively these days, for me it's new old stock Philips STR-387's or mil spec STR-415's w/double halo getters from the 1980's
    they're pricey when you can find them but very robust w/tons of clean headroom and last a long long time, so more than worth it to me. I have several quads saved for a rainy day or 3.
    I know they were reissued, I have no experience w/those but I'd imagine they're inferior to the originals as are most [but not all] modern vacuum tubes.

User Info Menu

I have no specific experience retubing a TR but I have been very happy with JJ 6L6 power tubes in my two tweed Fender amps (Blues DeVille and Blues Deluxe).

I haven't experimented a lot with pre tubes - there are many threads on the web about which ones have the most headroom vs early breakup, smooth breakup etc. I tend to just stick with 12AX7s. The ECC83S high-gain replacement for 12AX7 did not sound dramatically different to me from the 12AX7s they replaced, but I didn't do an A/B test, nor would it have really been a good test to compare old f---ed up 12AX7s with new ECC83Ses...

I can recommend Eurotubes.com - great prices, fast service, knowledgable and helpful staff.

Some folks on this forum say that JJs are not a great match for every amp. That may or may not be true ... people can argue for DAYS about tubes. Seriously. I will just say that I like the JJs in my Fenders and your tastes (or amps) may vary.