The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 48

User Info Menu

How many of us play jazz on a flat top guitar at least some of the time? Does anybody use a flat top for jazz most of the time or perform jazz on one?

After Tony Rice's death I pulled my old flat top out of the closet; sometimes it sits for a year or more while I mainly play my archtops, Tele or Strat. Mine is a Takamine F-340S (blatant Martin D-18 copy down to the headstock and decal) and is the first guitar I bought in 1979. For the first six or seven years I studied guitar it was my only instrument, until I bought my GB10 in '86, so it is the one on which my hands were formed so to speak. As a result, it really does feel like "home" when I play it. My jazz teacher from 1980-87 had a 1940s L7 followed by a Johnny Smith, so I have long had this attitude that a 17" archtop is the "proper" guitar to play jazz. However, I am really enjoying playing jazz on the flat top. The tone is warmer and very open and the sustain envelope of the note isn't necessarily longer than my archtop but it's different.

So it's probably not going to go back into the closet. Even though it was a cheap guitar when I bought it for, I think, $200 which might've even included the case ($690 in today's dollars, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics), I don't think it sounds any worse in my hands than any Martin I've ever tried except for the David Bromberg M-42 model, which was a cannon with huge bass (but also $5000 or some such).

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have a Taylor 312CE 12 Fret which is very nice for solo jazz guitar.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cunamara
    How many of us play jazz on a flat top guitar at least some of the time? Does anybody use a flat top for jazz most of the time or perform jazz on one?