The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have been a student for several years on the plectrum banjo. I was looking for an instrument that is more melodic and guitar-like and now play a plectrum guitar. I am not very accomplished, but pleased with my progress, having started at the age of 63. I like soft rock from the 60’s and 70’s and have some fun playing for myself.

It is very hard to find a plectrum guitar, and I found a luthier who could make one with a 26" scale length. I tune it like a plectrum banjo (CGBD) so I can still take lessons with my banjo instructor. I an seriously thinking about having an 8 string plectrum made for me.

I was reading about 12 string guitars and about how to string them. It appears to be an art to decide what string gauges to use. From what I read, there are acoustic considerations and practical considerations of having the right gauge that will not break when tuning, and, a strong neck to handle the tension. For my plectrums, I use 13, 15, 20, 26 or 28. I have a little higher gauge on the D string because I find that anything smaller will cut into my pinky finger.

Can you point me to somewhere I can learn the fundamentals on how to decide what gauge to get for an 8 string plectrum, full 26” scale length, if I go ahead? Do you have any recommendations?

Thanks so much.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu