The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi, new here.

I got a subtle question.

I have an Eastman T185MX (see this thread: )

It's a solid wood thinline and has great, woody "jazz" tones. The pickups I put in are Seth Lovers. It's from 2006.

I don't seem to get the typical 335 tones out of this guitar. It's too fat and gets nasal on the neck pickup when I use higher gain.

I have the feeling that such a resonant solid wood guitar is not the right thing for playing with higher gain.
    By "higher gain" I mean a tone like on the 1st album by Larry Carlton, with his mesa boogie, or classic rock like "Comin' home" by Ten Years After or early Clapton etc.
    Not real high gain like in metal or modern hard rock.

Can you confirm that I would need a laminated 335 type guitar for this application?

Btw. I'm an experienced player and teacher. My jazz guitars include a '72 L5 CES, an ES175 (both gone), an Eastman AR610, and that T185MX.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You are quite right in your assumption that a more solid, thick-topped guitar (very preferably one with a sustain-block running down the middle) will get you that sustained, more biting and trebly lead sound a la Carlton, Ford, Ritenour etc.
    It's not so much a question whether the top wood is a laminate or solid (the first version of the Collings I35 is made out of all solid woods + sustain-block) but that block in the center is crucial IMHO. A Stop Tailpiece increases high-end response and sustain a little bit but also colores the tone more towards a solidbody guitar. Listen to some classic BB King stuff : he used an ES- 355 with the stock vibrato-tailpiece and his sound is a bit more percussive , with less sustain when compared to the classic Carlton sound on Steely Dan's "Don't take me alive" , "Chain Reaction" by the Crusaders or Ford's sound on
    Joni Mitchell's "Miles and Ailses" etc.

User Info Menu

So less resonance is better with gain.