The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

Hi everyone,

So the title refers not to a guitar of mine but to a guitar that might be mine. Here's the backstory: I've been scrimping and saving for a couple of years with the intent of getting myself a graduation gift for completing my masters degree (hint: it's a guitar!). Well, the end of the semester was a mess for obvious reasons, and I've lost a lot of work for the foreseeable future. That said, I may not have to dip into my graduation gift savings if a couple of things work out. If that's the case, I'm still going to get the guitar.

The other end of the backstory is that I've played two Moffa guitars, both Lorraines, and was really struck by both of them. Neither was for sale and that's ok, because at the times I played them I would have bankrupted myself trying to pay for either. I've been intending to contact Nico Moffa, but there's a Lorraine I might be able to buy used. The two problems are that I can't try it first (for obvious reasons), and it has a crack in the back.

As a general question, how concerned are you all with a crack, and a fairly large one, in the back of an instrument? I mean as players, I'm not a collector. How much would you figure it impacts the value of a luthier-built instrument, roughly? Again, as a player looking to buy.

There's a picture that shows the crack somewhat. According to the seller it's closed up reasonably tight with concentrated humidification, but has not been fixed yet. The crack is on the left, towards the treble side and extending from the rim to almost the waist (it's a big one):

Cracked Guitar Back-screenshot_20200501-100859-jpg