The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hi-Billy's the name, and I'm a newbie!
    Just bought an Epi ES 175 Reissue,and am looking forward to learning and playing some jazz.

I've been doing the setup, as I do on all my guitars- truss, intonation-the usual.
    One thing that kind of annoys me whilst I've been playing it-the pickguard/finger rest. It's in the wrong place for me-I either knock it, or tap it down on to the puckup casing. Apart from aesthetics, is there any reason for me NOT to remove the pickguard and bracket? My style of playing is with my fingers, or a combination of pick and fingers a la Knopfler. I've a fairly light hand playing- I've never been a "pub strummer".
    Any thoughts on why removing it might be a bad idea?
    Thanks everybody.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

No reason not to! I have a ES-335 and it was the same for me. I know removing the pickguard is a common thing to do on 335s.

User Info Menu

That sounds fine to me - a couple of the guys here have removed their pickguards for similar reasons and their guitars look really nice without them. (One size doesn't necessarily suit all, especially regarding the technique that you use.)

You will have to deal with one small hole near the neck that will be visible but that's usually a two minute fix: toothpick forced into hole, trimmed and carefully scraped flush, colored with a crayon* and then covered with a dab of paste wax --- polish for a moment, done. No permanent effect, the toothpick can be easily removed if you want to replace the pickguard at some point ...

*can use "lacquer sticks", the wood-stain crayons from woodworker's supply or literally a child's coloring crayon. (Children's crayons won't affect the surrounding finish of the guitar - the residue buffs off just like paste wax.)

User Info Menu