The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Is this a fake Gibson?-screenshot_20181121-194453_offerup-jpgIs this a fake Gibson?-screenshot_20181121-194445_offerup-jpg
    Is this a fake Gibson?-screenshot_20181121-194458_offerup-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Yes.

User Info Menu

I'm no expert. But to me it looks suspicious.
    - Headstock is too long - there's too much of it past the D and G tuners
    - The finish looks wrong - this is pretty subjective, but I don't recall ever seeing a sunburst like that on a Gibson
    - Tailpiece isn't the usual one on a Byrdland
    - The controls don't appear to be placed as I'd expect
    - I can't see it too well, but it looks like there's one extra position marker at the 21st fret
    - The cutaway isn't deep enough - on the Gibson page the cutaway goes to the 22nd fret, but here it seems to go to the 20th fret
    - Again subjective, but the neck pickup looks too close to the end of the fingerboard. You should be able to see the point at the end of the fingerboard.
    - Pink pickguard?

So there's my opinion, worth exactly what you paid for it.

User Info Menu

Thanks. I knew $240 was waaaaayyyy to good to be true.

User Info Menu

Here’s an odd looking “Gibson”.

Gibson Super 400 1948-1952 Sunburst Gibson Super 400 1948-1952 Sunburst | Guitars | Reverb

User Info Menu

Holy Chibson, Batman!!

Yeah, that's as real as a $3 bill....

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ThatRhythmMan

Gibson Super 400 1948-1952 Sunburst Gibson Super 400 1948-1952 Sunburst | Guitars | Reverb
    OMG. Mine eyes...ze googles. .zey do nothing....

That's horrible. Not. Even. Close.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ThatRhythmMan
    Wow! That is one very cool guitar, that probably has a great story attached to it. Real Grandma Moses stuff.
    I may need to put an offer in on it, ha!