The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

announced today...40th anniversary edition of the paul!!..that's a lot of walnut

cheers

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Good little work horse guitars …

if you can get one for a decent deal

User Info Menu

That is a lot of walnut!

I've never seen a Les Paul like that before.

Nice!

User Info Menu

When you need a little more Les in your life...

Nice looking guitar. Should sustain FOR DAYS with the walnut. Should be heavy as heck as well.

I'm trying to think if any major artists played this back in the day? Can't think of any offhand.

Just one minor quibble is the black plastic access plate on the back. With a nice piece of wood like that they should use something that complements it. Brown would be better. Cream would look pretty cool as well.

User Info Menu

As an aside as a woodworker I have always loved working with walnut. It cuts nicely, sands super smooth and finishes well with almost any kind of finish. And it smells great--have to be careful not to breath too much of it in, especially while sanding, as it's pretty irritating, but it's probably my favorite sawdust smell.

Something I did a year or 2 ago, with maple keys...

Today's Gibson Les Paul Reissue-shelf-jpg

User Info Menu

At $1400 list, this actually seems like a good first sign from new management.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User Info Menu

Speaking of weight, this one at The Music Zoo is rather unimposing at just 7 lbs 15 oz. Definitely a cool guitar.

Gibson 2019 The Paul 40th Anniversary Walnut Vintage Gloss | The Music Zoo

User Info Menu

that is pretty cool. and it seems like a pretty good price. but let's stop fucking around and get to the hollow bodies

User Info Menu

On a similar note, how about reissuing the 335-S too? Very cool, and usually available pretty cheaply.

Gibson Firebrand 335-S Standard Walnut 1980 | Reverb