The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

I am new to jazz guitar (about a year). Although I have played Rock for a long time (Van Halen, Eric Clapton, etc) and I have led worship services at church for the last decade... I don't know which JAZZ guitar to buy. I have a Carvin CT6M for Church, a Martin acoustic, an Ibanez Jem for shredding....but how do I get that pure golden Jazz tone!?! I will be playing through my MESA boogie tube amp on clean with a spring reverb.

I am certain that a Hollow or Semi Hollow is the way to go. But which one? I don't want to break the bank if I don't have to so I am listing a few guitars I am looking at and asking for your opinions comparing these guitars. Thanks for your experience and input:

1. Heritage guitars....535, 555, 575. Is one better than the other?

2. Gibson es137

3. Ibanez: as200, 2630, jcm100...are they equal?

4. Ibanez: PM35NT seems like a good buy for the price under $1,000.

do I need to spend $1,500 or are there good options under $1,000.

well, those are my uneducated thoughts. Please help me out.
    Zac

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi, Zac.

There are certainly options for under $1000. The Epiphone Joe Pass II, Emperor Regent and ES-175 reissue are all in that price range. The Ibanez Artcores get some good reviews, and I've also read some good things about the Samick/Greg Bennett LaSalle series.

Right now, I'm playing an Eastman El Rey (ER-1) I picked up on eBay for under $1000. It's an unconventional design, but I love the tone and the action.

If you haven't already, check out the Jazz Guitar Gear link on the home page for some quick reviews of guitars in different price ranges.

User Info Menu

I randomly picked up a PM35NT last weekend in a guitar shop I visited looking for something else (ok, I'll admit it - I was looking for a Strat, of all guitars!)