The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

I have a PRRI with a 1x12 (CRex) incoming.

Since I also have a 5e3 I plan to use the PRRI mostly for the classic cleans. I will use it for Jazz and P&W. I plan to get a couple of tubes and wanted to get your feedback.

V1 Preamp: likely a NOS RCA 12AY7 - loved it on my 5e3 and I would like to tame the amp a bit since like I said I plan to use it mostly for cleans up to breakup. Also read great things about 5751 in this position but I have no experience.

V2 Reverb Driver: 12AU7 - I just need a bit of reverb. Any recommendations? Is NOS worth it for this position?

Would love to get your thoughts for jazz in particular. Like I said before I also have a 5e3, that should cover Blue Note repertoire.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My favorite in the V1 position is a 5751, pretty much across the board in 12ax7 amps. I still play around with the other positions and go with what the amp tells me as I swap them out.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatRhythmMan
    My favorite in the V1 position is a 5751, pretty much across the board in 12ax7 amps. I still play around with the other positions and go with what the amp tells me as I swap them out.
    Thanks! Any 5751 in particular?

User Info Menu

I have this 7025 in my amps.

User Info Menu

Blackface amps are not nearly as tube sensitive as tweeds. I wouldn't bother with any tube changes unless you're having a problem. The stock tubes are just fine for cleans.

Here's a tip:
    If using humbuckers or p90's try pluggin into input 2. It reduces the amount of gain hitting the preamp section and can warm the tone as well.

User Info Menu

I’ve been using JAN Sylvania 5751s and I’ve been really happy with them.

While I play tweed amps, I still much prefer a 5751 in the V1 of a blackface amp. To my ear the difference is quite significant.

User Info Menu