The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Hi,

Was just wondering if anyone has played, own or have any feedback on this amp.

I've looked at old posts and saw a few posts on the Vintage Sound 20 amps, but my understanding that their "Jazz 20" is a different amp.

I'm new to Jazz guitar and currently have been using my mid 90's Blues Junior and a Eastman 503ce. All of which are fine for the near future, but like other hobbies, you are always looking for the next fun piece of equipment.

Cheers!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

20 watts, 12" speaker and 38 lbs and optional 6L6's doesn't strike me as being particularly "Princeton-style"

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

The amp is a Princeton with the trannies and speaker of a Deluxe. It's a good combination. ..a Princeton with more headroom.

User Info Menu

You can get more headroom on a Princeton by changing the speaker and save yourself a bit of money.

Although I’m sure it’s a really good amp

User Info Menu

Yes...but it won't be 20-watts. Combining the Princeton pre-amp with the Deluxe power-amp is what the VS20 does. This provides the more-or-less 20-watts that the Deluxe Reverb gives you. (Fender rates it at 22-watts by having a power transformer that delivers 450-volts to the plates of the two 6V6 tubes. Hot, hot, hot.) The Princeton operates at lower voltage, producing 12-watts and a quicker onset of output distortion.

Nonetheless, both the Princeton Reverb and Deluxe Reverb are great amplifiers.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Greentone