The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 70

User Info Menu

These sorts of comparisons will never end. And they won't because they rarely resolve anything. Nonetheless, they are fun.

In this video an excellent fingerstyle player compares his trusty L-5 with several Heritages. It should be noted that he is a new Heritage dealer, but I've found Rich Severson to have a solid reputation for integrity. I also find him to be a great teacher and player.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

didn't watch the video but I've had extensive experience with the L5 and the Heritage Eagle. My take is that nothing comes close to an L5 including many of the hand-made boutique guitars. In the case of the eagle, the fatter body of the L5 makes a huge difference in dynamic range IMO.

OTOH, a couple years ago, i had a Gibson L5 Wes and a Heritage Eagle Classic with 1 pickup, parallel bracing, etc. I actually preferred the Eagle. I felt it was more responsive and had more acoustic vibe to it. Not to mention, you can pick up a used Heritage eagle for around $2k.

Still, if I were going for exclusively the Wes tone, the L5 is closer to that sound.

User Info Menu

Hello,
    I agree, I own both—3 L5's and 1 Golden Eagle with set PUP—and, while the Golden has a wonderful tone of its own, it in no way compares to the L5 CES or even my Wes. And, yes, acoustically, the Golden is somewhat brighter than the Wes, but amplified they differ significantly as well, one not being better than the other, just different. In addition, I own several boutique, alleged L5 clones, whose tonalities differ greatly from the Gibby. As said, if you desire the L5 sound, the only solution is the real deal.
    Last edited by plectrum99x; 04-19-2017 at 10:28 AM.

User Info Menu

I've never heard any Heritage that can touch a Gibson L-5 but ymmv.